Bug #95370 On database reconnect Cancel button doesn't cancel reconnect
Submitted: 14 May 2019 14:11 Modified: 14 May 2019 20:41
Reporter: Vassiliy Yatsik Email Updates:
Status: Verified Impact on me:
None 
Category:MySQL Workbench Severity:S3 (Non-critical)
Version:8.0.16 OS:Any
Assigned to: CPU Architecture:Any
Tags: password reconnect lockup

[14 May 2019 14:11] Vassiliy Yatsik
Description:
When database connection is lost and Workbench trying to reconnect there's no way to stop it except for entering the password or "killing" the process.

Clicking Cancel just opens the same window again.

How to repeat:
1. Change connection timeout interval to 1 second
2. Connect to a database
3. Break the connection to database (disable network connection, etc)
4. After time out period (1 second) restore connection to database
5. A password window will appear that can't be cancelled

Suggested fix:
Cancel should stop trying to auto-reconnect this connection, so that user can get access to query windows without having to enter the password.
[14 May 2019 14:20] Vassiliy Yatsik
Only applicable when password is not stored in Vault.
[14 May 2019 20:41] MySQL Verification Team
Thank you for the bug report.
[1 Feb 13:06] MySQL Verification Team
Bug #101149 marked as duplicate of this one.