Bug #74262 All in one installer assume an upgrade and adding a new component is not obvious
Submitted: 8 Oct 2014 9:18 Modified: 8 Oct 2014 17:02
Reporter: Deanna Earley Email Updates:
Status: Verified Impact on me:
None 
Category:MySQL for Windows: Installer Severity:S3 (Non-critical)
Version:5.6.21 OS:Microsoft Windows (Windows 7)
Assigned to: CPU Architecture:Any

[8 Oct 2014 9:18] Deanna Earley
Description:
When you run the all in one MySQL installer, you are presented with the usual UAC prompt, and it goes straight to a page about upgrading the products I have installed (MySQL Workbench) with no option to add new components.

On the assumption that it wouldn't be able to install a new component, I cancelled, where it gave me the associated "Are you sure you want to cancel upgrading your products?", it THEN gave me a new window with options to "Add", "Modify", "Upgrade", and "Remove".

This should present this page straight away rather than a misleading "you've launched an upgrade" that you then need to cancel.

(Note that the close/X button also acts differently and exits outright)

How to repeat:
Run the new all in one installer with MySQL workbench already installed.

Suggested fix:
Launch straight into the "Add", "Modify", "Upgrade", and "Remove" dialog rather than assuming an upgrade with a non obvious way to get back to the option to add.
[8 Oct 2014 13:54] MySQL Verification Team
Add, Upgrade, Remove options

Attachment: installer_options.png (image/png, text), 86.27 KiB.

[8 Oct 2014 13:56] MySQL Verification Team
Thank you for the bug report. Please see prior attached screenshot at right hand the buttons options to add, modify, upgrade, etc. Thanks.
[8 Oct 2014 14:02] Deanna Earley
I am aware of those options, but they are only available after seemingly exiting the setup as it bypasses that screen and goes straight to an upgrade.
The process was as follows:
1) Run installer
2) Accept UAC prompt
*  See page offering to upgrade workbench
3) Cancel as I don't want to upgrade so I try and exit
4) Confirm cancellation
*  Oh, there is the option to add...

The wording and the design of that workflow is not at all obvious that you need to exit/cancel to be able to add a new package.
[8 Oct 2014 14:09] Deanna Earley
Initial screen after running installer

Attachment: screen 1.png (image/png, text), 58.54 KiB.

[8 Oct 2014 14:10] Deanna Earley
Hmm, no option to install something new..

Attachment: screen 2.png (image/png, text), 55.54 KiB.

[8 Oct 2014 14:10] Deanna Earley
Do I really want to cancel?

Attachment: screen 3.png (image/png, text), 25.82 KiB.

[8 Oct 2014 14:10] Deanna Earley
Ahh, there's the option to add something new!

Attachment: screen 4.png (image/png, text), 50.52 KiB.

[8 Oct 2014 14:14] Deanna Earley
It also turns out that it silently installed the "MySQL installer" without any confirmation or information that it was going to do this.
This is generally considered evil in most computing environments :)

IF I run the installed installer then it does go straight to the preferred dialog, but as I was running the downloaded package, it goes straight to the upgrade process.
[8 Oct 2014 17:02] MySQL Verification Team
Thank you for the feedback.