Bug #73188 Saving edits clears undo history
Submitted: 3 Jul 2014 19:42 Modified: 10 Sep 2014 15:14
Reporter: Damian Suess Email Updates:
Status: Closed Impact on me:
None 
Category:MySQL Workbench: SQL Editor Severity:S2 (Serious)
Version:6.1.7 OS:Microsoft Windows
Assigned to: CPU Architecture:Any

[3 Jul 2014 19:42] Damian Suess
Description:
Issue:
When saving a query the undo history is automatically cleared.

Impact:
While working on queries users frequently perform save operations. However humans often make mistakes and must perform Undo operations (ctrl+s) no matter if they performed a save or not.

Issue Type: Loss of functionality

How to repeat:
1. Connect to your database
2. Open a new query (ctrl+t)
3. Type up a simple query (or anything)
4. Save, (ctrl+s)
5. Attempt to undo what you wrote, (ctrl-z)

Suggested fix:
Do not clear the Undo history after user saves their work
[3 Jul 2014 21:01] Miguel Solorzano
Thank you for the bug report. On my side 6.1.6 and older version behaves same as
6.1.7 however Windows applications like notepad doesn't clear the undo history
after saving the document so a valid bug.
[7 Jul 2014 18:40] Damian Suess
upgraded severity from non-critical to serious.
[28 Aug 2014 22:17] Philip Olson
Fixed as of the upcoming MySQL Workbench 6.2.2 release, and here's the changelog entry:

Saving a query in the SQL editor would clear the undo history.

Thank you for the bug report.
[10 Sep 2014 15:14] Damian Suess
Thank you for the quick turnaround time!