Bug #63460 Cancel corrupts model file when close with unsaved changes
Submitted: 28 Nov 2011 20:29 Modified: 20 Jul 2012 6:39
Reporter: Marc Butler Email Updates:
Status: Closed Impact on me:
None 
Category:MySQL Workbench Severity:S2 (Serious)
Version:5.2.35 OS:Microsoft Windows
Assigned to: CPU Architecture:Any
Tags: Corrupted model
Triage: Needs Triage: D2 (Serious)

[28 Nov 2011 20:29] Marc Butler
Description:
When click close button in model with unsaved changes, get dialog asking save, don't save or cancel. Click cancel. Dialog disappears and workbench closes instead of expected behavior of returning to workbench with model file still open.

Then attempt to reopen model. Get usual "Model file is being loaded", then
dialog box titled "Document Recovery" with text

The document <document filename> was not properly closed in a previous session on .
The file you are about to open was last saved .
Would you like to use the recovered model? Continuing without recovering will remove the auto-saved data. 
and two buttons: "Recover" and "Cancel".

Note: <document filename> is the name of the model file.

Selecting "Recover" then you get an error dialog titled "MySQL Workbench has encountered a problem" "External component has thrown an exception", some standard boilerplate text with two buttons "Report a Bug" and "Close".

Selecting "Cancel", sucessfully opens the model. HHOWEVER, you get the same Document Recovery dialog the next time you open the model, even if you make changes to the model and save the model.

Attempting to use the .bak file after renaming also fails with the same issue.

Rated as S2 because you can lose significant amounts of work.

SYSTEM INFORMATION follows

MySQL Workbench CE for Windows version 5.2.35
Configuration Directory: C:\Users\Marc\AppData\Roaming\MySQL\Workbench
Data Directory: C:\Program Files (x86)\MySQL\MySQL Workbench 5.2 CE
Cairo Version: 1.8.8
Rendering Mode: OpenGL is available on this system, so OpenGL is used for rendering.
OpenGL Driver Version: 3.1.0 - Build 8.15.10.2509
OS: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium Edition Service Pack 1 (build 7601), 64-bit
CPU: 8x Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2630QM CPU @ 2.00GHz, 5.9 GiB RAM
Active video adapter: NVIDIA GeForce GT 540M  
Installed video RAM: 1024 MB
Current video mode: 1366 x 768 x 4294967296 colors
Used bit depth: 32
Driver version: 8.17.12.8026
Installed display drivers: nvd3dumx.dll,nvwgf2umx.dll,nvwgf2umx.dll,nvd3dum,nvwgf2um,nvwgf2um
Current user language: English (United States)

How to repeat:
Open a model.
Make changes.
Click on close window button, select File, Close from menu or type Ctl-Q.
Get dialog warning that unsaved changes exist.
Click Cancel.
[28 Nov 2011 21:04] Valeriy Kravchuk
Yes, I've seen this when verified related Bug #62959.
[20 Jul 2012 6:39] Philip Olson
This has been fixed as of the soon-to-be-released Workbench 5.2.41, and 
here's the changelog entry:

After making changes to a model, then closing the window, clicking "Cancel" on
the unsaved changes warning/dialogue would close MySQL Workbench. Now the model
window remains open.