Bug #55274 Change default synchronization behaviour
Submitted: 15 Jul 2010 7:13 Modified: 16 Jul 2010 12:24
Reporter: Andrei Frolov Email Updates:
Status: Verified Impact on me:
None 
Category:MySQL Workbench: Modeling Severity:S4 (Feature request)
Version:5.2.25 CE OS:Microsoft Windows
Assigned to: CPU Architecture:Any
Tags: synchronization

[15 Jul 2010 7:13] Andrei Frolov
Description:
If object doesn't exist in a model, during synchronization default action will be deletion of this object from database. This is not correct. If object is not marked for deletion in model default action should be 'update model'.

How to repeat:
Add any object to model, execute 'synchronize' command (for instance via Ctrl+Shift+Z). On 'Model and Database Differences' page of the 'Synchronize Model with Database' wizard default action will be 'update source'.

Suggested fix:
If object is not marked for deletion in model default action should be 'update model'.
[15 Jul 2010 17:09] Johannes Taxacher
The reason for that behavior is that the model in WB is supposed to be the side where most changes are made, so the default direction for applying changes is model->server
[16 Jul 2010 10:25] Andrei Frolov
If this is by design, then my request is inappropriate. 
Though this is pretty strange and inconvenient synchronization process. 
If for example I would add class in software project or contact in address book on my mobile device and after synchronization they would be by default marked for deletion only because they were absent in class diagram or PIM that would seem pretty awkward, at least to me.
[16 Jul 2010 10:58] Johannes Taxacher
Thanks for the report, i absolutely see your point. It depends on the environment workbench is used so it would make sense to be able to set defaults for sync-actions. we'll keep it open as Feature request when we're extending the synchronization part in future versions.
[16 Jul 2010 12:24] Andrei Frolov
thanks a lot.
[26 May 2013 16:57] Alfredo Kojima
Bug #56575 is a duplicate