Bug #32552 With no model selected, a Database syncronize can be run.
Submitted: 20 Nov 2007 21:17 Modified: 23 Nov 2007 22:30
Reporter: marc castrovinci (Basic Quality Contributor) Email Updates:
Status: Closed Impact on me:
None 
Category:MySQL Workbench Severity:S2 (Serious)
Version:5.09 SE BETA OS:Microsoft Windows (XP SP2)
Assigned to: Johannes Taxacher
Tags: database, delete, Drop, model, qc, selected, sync

[20 Nov 2007 21:17] marc castrovinci
Description:
If you have no schema, and run a "Synchronize" it will just delete everything.

How to repeat:
1. Open Workbench.
2. Close EVERY possible window, so it is nothing but grey.
3. In a db server run the following commands..
      create database testing;
      create table foobar (helloid integer);
4. Go to Database>Synchronize
5. When you get to "Select Schemata", choose testing.
6. Click next til you get to "SQL Diff Tree"
   You should see something like this >>> http://i14.tinypic.com/7wrttl1.jpg
7. Click next twice, then finish.
8. Query your db, and testing is now gone.

Suggested fix:
Don't allow the "Target" to be updated to "N/A", or atleast give the user a warning that because the model had nothing, the "Target" will be dropped.

This happened to me already. Thankfully it was just a logging db/table that wasn't needed anyway on our Dev environment.
[21 Nov 2007 23:10] Miguel Solorzano
Thank you for the bug report.
[23 Nov 2007 12:53] Vladimir Kolesnikov
This behavior is as expected. Hiding the overview window doesn't have any impact on the data model.
[23 Nov 2007 22:30] Johannes Taxacher
expected behaviour, not a bug